Three Days Along the John Day – Part 1 (En Route)

This past weekend, we took a three day excursion to Eastern Oregon to see how it compares to Eastern Washington. As it turns out, we had a great time. Painted Hills, ghost towns, old steam engines, fossils and much more awaited us along the banks of the Columbia and John Day Rivers. Over the next three posts, you can check out our antics!

We left Seattle around 6:30 am and headed south on I-5. Eric was driving so I did take a rather long car nap! I wanted to stop in Portland for some vegan donuts at Voodoo Donuts. Portland likes to keep it weird.

I waited in a line that wrapped around the Voodoo Donut building for about 15 minutes. Eric took some photos with his Holga camera while I waited.

I picked out three donuts for us to try. This was my first time at Voodoo! That massive donut in the front is a raised donut with chocolate frosting, Oreo cookie pieces on top and peanut butter! Wow.

We drove on old Route 30 for a few hours after leaving Portland. Multaonomah Falls were along the way.

Old Route 30 has a few tunnels that you can walk through.

Oregon is green! Eric was taking a photo of me with his Holga camera.

You could catch a glimpse of the Columbia River at many of the scenic pullouts along old Route 30.

Eric waited for trains and I took photos of the wildflowers.

We finally spotted a train!

Old Route 30 has some very windy roads.

Those are the best kind of roads though. We have no interest in traveling on straight highways unless it’s absolutely necessary.

Old schoolhouse in Grass Valley

Grass Valley

Shaniko, Oregon.

Shaniko is a cute little town that has sadly seen better days.

The town has an Old West theme.

You had to work a little harder if you wanted to pee in Shaniko.

“We be open 7am.”

This is part of the John Day Fossil Beds.

Oregon has some wonderful painted hills!

Eric waited for the sun to shine.

The sun finally cooperated with us!

Six years ago on Memorial Day weekend Eric and I took our first camping trip together!

Stay tuned! Days two and three are coming up shortly!

2 responses to “Three Days Along the John Day – Part 1 (En Route)

  1. Oh I want the old school house! Remember when j and I lived at the school house apartment? I loved that building.
    the voodoos look good. But they can’t be as a nice as mighty o. Those are magic doughnuts.

  2. I loved that apartment! And Voodoo is good, but no where near as good as Mighty-O. I honestly don’t see what all the hype is about.

Leave a comment